Choose Category 
Search by name 
Jane Arinaitwe
Category:Current Staff
Emailjane@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Ms
Designation:
  • Research Technician
Joined:
  • 1999
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Micro propagation
  • Embryo Rescue

Jane is..............

Martha Kayemba
Category:Current Staff
Emailmartha@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Ms
Designation:
  • Research Technician
Joined:
  • 1999
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Micro propagation
  • Agronomy
  • Breeding

Martha is

Charles Mwesigye Changa
Category:Current Staff
Emailccmwesigye@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Dr.
Designation:
  • Research Officer
Joined:
  • 2005
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Banana fungal diseases
  • Banana pest resistance
  • Banana marketing
  • Biotechnology
  • Cell suspension development
Annette Magala
Category:Current Staff
Emailamagala@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Ms
Designation:
  • Administrator
Joined:
  • 2008
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Human resource
  • M& E
  • Project planning
Lilian Nangozi
Category:Current Staff
Emaillilian@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Ms
Designation:
  • Research Technician
Joined:
  • 2009
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Cell Culture
  • Micropropation
Georgina Karamura M.
Category:Current Staff
Emailgeorgina@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Mr.
Designation:
  • Research Assistant
Joined:
  • 2008
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Genetic Transformation
  • Plant pathology
  • Biofactories
Caroline Asasira
Category:Current Staff
Emailcarol@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Ms
Designation:
  • Accounts Assistant
Joined:
  • 2009
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Accounting
  • Finance & Audit
Samuel Mpiira
Category:Current Staff
Emailsmpiira@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Mr.
Designation:
  • PhD. Fellow
Joined:
  • 2001
Tel:
  • 0414567158
Interest:
  • Value Chain Analysis
  • Gender Analysis
  • Nutritional Economics
  • Agro Biodiversity

Currently studying House hold decision making and its effect on technology choice

  prev   1  2 

The vast majority of the bananas currently grown and consumed were not conventionally bred but are selections made over probably thousands of years from naturally occurring hybrids. Cultivated bananas are very nearly sterile and as a consequence are not propagated from seed but rather through vegetative propagation, primarily suckers as well as more recently micropropagated or tissue cultured bananas. These factors, very old selections, near sterility and vegetative propagation, mean that these bananas have not been genetically improved either for resistance or improved quality and are becoming increasing in affected by serious pests and diseases.

Random images from our gallery

  • IBC visits NARO's Banana Program_11

Latest videos