Choose Category 
Search by name 
Josephine Namaganda
Category:Current Staff
Emailjnamaganda@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Dr.
Designation:
  • Senior Research Officer
Joined:
  • 1992
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Nematode Research, Breeding
Jerome Kubirba
Category:Current Staff
Emailjkubiriba@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Dr.
Designation:
  • Program Leader
Joined:
  • 1996
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Banana Breeding, Marketing and Utilization
Henry Basheija
Category:Current Staff
Emailhbasheija@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Mr
Designation:
  • IT Officer
Joined:
  • 2005
Tel:
  • 0782-0000
Interest:
  • Bioinformatics & ICT
Priver Namanya
Category:Current Staff
Emailpriver@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Dr.
Designation:
  • Research Officer
Joined:
  • 2001
Tel:
  • +256414-567158
Interest:
  • Plant Biotechnology
  • Breeding
  • Cryopreservation

Dr. Priver Namanya is....

Kehas Nowakunda
Category:Current Staff
Emailkepas@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Dr.
Designation:
  • Research Officer
Joined:
  • 1996
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Fusarium Resistance
  • Agribusiness

Dr. Kephas Nowakunda is a senior research officer...

Doreen Amumpaire
Category:Current Staff
Emaildoreen@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Ms
Designation:
  • Research Associate
Joined:
  • 2009
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Cell Culture
  • Genetic Transformation
  • Cryopreservation
Betty Magambo
Category:Current Staff
Emailcbetti@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Ms
Designation:
  • Research Assistant
Joined:
  • 2006
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Biotechnology, Plant Transformation

Betty Magambo is a research associate with the National Bana...

Rebecca Nakachwa
Category:Current Staff
Emailbecky@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Ms
Designation:
  • Research Assistant
Joined:
  • 2009
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Plant Biotechnology
  • Nematode Bar coding
Caesar Oweitu
Category:Current Staff
Emailcaesar@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Mr.
Designation:
  • Research Technician
Joined:
  • 2012
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Black Sigatooka Resistance
  • Gene Silencing
Kawuma James
Category:Current Staff
Emailkawuma@kari.go.ug
Title:
  • Dr.
Designation:
  • Research Technician
Joined:
  • 2012
Tel:
  • +256-414-567158
Interest:
  • Banana Cell culture, Genetic Transformation
 1  2   next  

Latest News

M9 Banana Hybrid hits the market
Friday, 23 June 2017
A high yielding, great tasting Matooke Hybrid developed by NARO with resistance to Black Sigatoka has taken the market by storm. M9 combines great taste, high yields resulting in favourable...
More inBanana in News  

The vast majority of the bananas currently grown and consumed were not conventionally bred but are selections made over probably thousands of years from naturally occurring hybrids. Cultivated bananas are very nearly sterile and as a consequence are not propagated from seed but rather through vegetative propagation, primarily suckers as well as more recently micropropagated or tissue cultured bananas. These factors, very old selections, near sterility and vegetative propagation, mean that these bananas have not been genetically improved either for resistance or improved quality and are becoming increasing in affected by serious pests and diseases.

Random images from our gallery

  • IBC visits NARO's Banana Program_22

Latest videos